Produced by the Tourism and Events Research Unit

May 2024

Victoria's Tourism Regions

Boundary map and regional definitions 2024



Victoria's tourism regions



Victoria's Tourism Regions

Daylesford and MacedonMacedonBacchus Marsh Surrounds, Bacchus Marsh, Gordon (Vic.), Kyneton, Woodend, Gisborne, Macedon, RiddellsMoorabool, MacedonCreek, Romsey	don Ranges Ballarat, Hepburn,
Danger	Mount Alexander
Spa Country Creswick – Clunes, Daylesford Hepburn, Ballarat sub-regio	(large portion also in Moorabool on)
	Queenscliff, Golden Surf Coast on also in Ballarat sub-
Gippsland Gippsland Drouin, Mount Baw Baw Region, Trafalgar (Vic.), Warragul, Foster, Korumburra, Leongatha, Wilsons Promontory, Churchill, Moe – Newborough, Morwell, Yallourn North – Glengarry, Alps – West, Longford - Loch Sport, Maffra, Rosedale, Sale, Yarram, Traralgon – East, Traralgon – West Wellington, Baw Bo	aw, Latrobe, South Bass Coast, East Gippsland
Lakes Alps – East, Bairnsdale, Bruthen – Omeo, Lake King, Lakes Entrance, Orbost, Paynesville East Gippsland	Wellington
Ballarat Ballarat Alfredton, Ballarat, Buninyong, Delacombe, Smythes Creek, Wendouree - Miners Rest, Avoca, Beaufort, Golden Plains - North, Ballarat East - Warrenheip, Ballarat North - Invermay, Canadian - Mount Clear, Sebastopol - Redan Pyrenees	Plains (large portion Moorabool
Bendigo Bendig	
Grampians Central Ararat, Ararat Surrounds, St Arnaud, Stawell Highlands Ararat, Ararat Surrounds, St Arnaud, Stawell	Grampians Pyrenees, Yarriambiack
Western Horsham, Horsham Surrounds, West Wimmera, Hamilton (Vic.), Southern Grampians West Wimmera (la Grampians Grampians Grampians, Horsh	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	ndmarsh, Buloke, West Portion also in Western Gannawarra, Swan Hil

^{*}LGAs noted are an approximate guide only and there is some overlap across tourism regions due to differences in geographical boundaries used to define tourism regions versus LGAs. Regional boundaries as of March 2024. For further information on statistical boundaries please refer to https://maps.abs.gov.au

Victoria's Tourism Regions

Tourism Regions	Sub- regions	Statistical Area Level 2 (SA2)	Local Government Areas (LGAs) – primary LGAs (best fit)*	Other LGAs in the sub- region (small area overlap)
Great Ocean Road	Great Ocean Road	Winchelsea, Lorne – Anglesea, Torquay, Glenelg (Vic.), Portland, Camperdown, Colac, Colac Surrounds, Corangamite – North, Corangamite – South, Otway, Moyne – East, Moyne – West, Warrnambool – North, Warrnambool - South	Glenelg, Corangamite, Colac Otway, Surf Coast, Warrnambool, Moyne	Southern Grampians
Victoria's High Country	High Country	Alexandra, Mansfield (Vic.), Yea, Benalla, Benalla Surrounds, Rutherglen, Wangaratta, Wangaratta Surrounds, Beechworth, Bright - Mount Beauty, Chiltern - Indigo Valley, Myrtleford, Towong, Yackandandah, Kinglake	Murrindindi, Mansfield, Benalla, Indigo, Wangaratta, Alpine, Towong. To note: Alpine resorts from this region are captured in Unincorporated VIC (e.g., Mount Buller, Hotham, Falls Creek).	Greater Shepparton, Strathbogie, Mitchell
Mornington Peninsula	Peninsula	Carrum Downs, Frankston, Frankston North, Frankston South, Langwarrin, Seaford (Vic.), Skye – Sandhurst, Dromana, Flinders, Hastings – Somers, Mount Eliza, Mount Martha, Point Nepean, Rosebud – McCrae, Somerville, Mornington – East, Mornington - West	Mornington Peninsula, Frankston	
Murray	Mallee	Irymple, Merbein, Mildura Surrounds, Red Cliffs, Mildura – North, Mildura – South, Gannawarra, Kerang, Robinvale, Swan Hill, Swan Hill Surrounds	Mildura, Swan Hill, Gannawarra	
	Goulburn	Euroa, Kilmore – Broadford, Nagambie, Seymour, Seymour Surrounds, Wallan, Mooroopna, Shepparton – North, Shepparton – South East, Shepparton Surrounds – East, Shepparton Surrounds – West, Kialla	Greater Shepparton, Strathbogie, Mitchell	
	Central Murray	Echuca, Kyabram, Lockington – Gunbower, Rochester, Rushworth, Cobram, Moira, Numurkah, Yarrawonga	Moira, Campaspe	Greater Shepparton
	Murray East	West Wodonga, Baranduda – Leneva, Wodonga	Wodonga	
Phillip Island	Phillip Island	French Island, Phillip Island, Wonthaggi - Inverloch	Bass Coast	
Yarra Valley and Dandenong Ranges	Yarra Valley and Dandenong Ranges	Upper Yarra Valley, Eltham, Hurstbridge, Panton Hill - St Andrews, Plenty - Yarrambat, Research - North Warrandyte, Wattle Glen - Diamond Creek, Belgrave - Selby, Chirnside Park, Healesville - Yarra Glen, Kilsyth, Lilydale - Coldstream, Monbulk - Silvan, Montrose, Mooroolbark, Mount Dandenong - Olinda, Mount Evelyn, Upwey - Tecoma, Wandin - Seville, Yarra Valley, Emerald - Cockatoo, Beaconsfield - Officer, Bunyip - Garfield, Koo Wee Rup, Pakenham - North East	Nillumbik, Yarra Ranges, Cardinia	

^{*}LGAs noted are an approximate guide only and there is some overlap across tourism regions due to differences in geographical boundaries used to define tourism regions versus LGAs. Regional boundaries as of March 2024. For further information on statistical boundaries please refer to https://maps.abs.gov.au

Victoria's Tourism Regions

Tourism Region	Sub-regions	Statistical Area Level 2 (SA2)	Local Government Areas (LGAs) – primary LGAs (best fit)*
Melbourne	Melbourne	Abbotsford, Airport West, Albert Park, Alphington – Fairfield, Altona, Altona Meadows, Altona North, Ardeer – Albion, Armadale, Ascot Vale, Ashburton (Vic.), Ashwood – Chadstone, Aspendale Gardens – Waterways, Avondale Heights, Balwyn, Balwyn North, Bayswater, Bayswater North, Beaumaris, Bentleigh – McKinnon, Bentleigh East – North, Bentleigh East – South, Brunswick – South, Chiefed – Coolaroo, Carlton, Carlton North – Princes Hill, Carnegie, Caroline Springs, Carrum – Potterson Lakes, Caulfield – South, Chelsea – Bonbeach, Chelsea Heights, Clarinda – Oakleigh South, Clayton – Central, Clayton (North) – Notting Hill, Clayton South, Clifton Hill – Alphington, Clyde North – South, Cobblebank – Strathtulloh, Coburg – East, Coburg – West, Coburg North, Collingwood, Craigleburn – North, Cranbourne, Cranbourne East – North, Cranbourne North – East, Cranbourne South, Cranbourne West, Croydon – East, Craydon – West, Croydon Hills – Warranwood, Croydon South, Dandenong – North, Dandenong – South, Dendenong North, Deer Park, Delohey, Derrimut, Diggers Rest, Dingley Village, Docklands, Donacaster Bast – North, Donacaster East – South, Donaval – Park Orchards, Dorean – North, Doveton, East Melbourne, Edithvale – Aspendale, Elstermwick, Elwood, Endeavour Hills – North, Epping – South, Essendon – East, Essendon (West) – Aberfeldie, Essendon Airport, Eynesbury – Exford, Fawker, Ferntree Gully (South) – Upper Ferntree Gully, Fitzory, Fitzroy North, Hemington, Flemington Racecourse, Footscray, Forest Hill, Fraser Rise – Plumpton, Gladstone Park - Westmeadows, Glen Iris – East, Glen Waverley – East, Glen Waverley – West, Clenroy – East, Glenware Fought, Brunswick, Ewe Subh, Brunswick, Ewe Subh, Brunswick, Selbor	Banyule, Bayside, Boroondara Brimbank, Casey, Darebin, Glen Eira, Greater Dandenong, Hobsons Bay, Hume, Kingston, Knox, Manningham, Maribyrnong, Maroondah, Melbourne, Melton, Monash, Moonee Valley, Moreland, Port Phillip, Stonnington, Whitehorse, Whittlesea Wyndham, Yarra Other LGA in the Melbourne tourism region (small area overlap) Yarra Ranges

^{*}LGAs noted are an approximate guide only and there is some overlap across tourism regions due to differences in geographical boundaries used to define tourism regions versus LGAs.. Regional boundaries as of March 2024. For further information on statistical boundaries please refer to https://maps.abs.gov.au

Report produced by the Tourism and Events research unit

Department of Jobs, Skills, Industry and Regions (DJSIR) Victorian Government

Published May 2024

Information is considered correct at the time of publishing.

Due care is taken in the production of this report, however DJSIR accepts no responsibility for use of this information.

Please contact: <u>research@ecodev.vic.gov.au</u> with any queries

